PDA

View Full Version : First Hike & Need Advice

mississippihiker
01-24-2011, 18:25
Making plans to hike the Georgia Section of the AT in May. This is my first time on the trail, but have experience from my days in Scouts as well as doing some "intense" training up and until the hike. Is 7 days realistic to hike this section? Any advice in terms of what to expect on the GA section? Thanks!

Lone Wolf
01-24-2011, 18:27
7 days is realistic. have fun

Sierra Echo
01-24-2011, 18:35
I'm thru hiking GA in may! Maybe I will see you on the trail!

scope
01-24-2011, 18:40
Yes, that's a good length of time to allow. What are your end points? That can greatly affect the length of time needed, but at 24 you should be able to do Amicalola to Deep Gap (NC) in those 7 days (~90m). Also depends on how much weight you have on your back, no matter how young.

mississippihiker
01-24-2011, 20:11
Great advice. Keep it coming.

Scope: Well my planning thus far is to start at the beginning (Springer from what I've been able to gather, correct?) and then try to end right at the TN line, but the transportation availability there is of course a factor. I'm open to suggestions on where is best to both start and finish, but something about starting at the beginning feels right. I don't anticipate ever being able to due a thru hike, so starting at Spring in GA, will enable me to have some kind of a specific if that makes sense. Thoughts?

Sierra Echo
01-24-2011, 20:13
My dad is dumping me out at Standing Indian and I'm walking back to my car at Amicalola. I might even stop for a night at the Len Foote Hike Inn!

mississippihiker
01-24-2011, 20:18
Correction: I said TN line, I mean to the NC/GA line.

My lack of knowledge is why I'm starting to plan now!

Tagless
01-24-2011, 21:44
Getting to the Franklin, NC road crossing (Winding Stairs Gap) should be doable if you can allow 8 days. That's a convenient place to get off the trail.

Whatever you decide to do - have a great hike!!:sun

FatMan