PDA

View Full Version : .gpx of Shenandoah NP

jerseydave
01-26-2011, 10:44
As I sit here patiently (not) waiting for my new toy (garmin 60csx) to arrive, I'm searching for the best FREE .gpx topo's that I can find.

Specifically I need the trail system in Shenandoah NP for a trip that I'm hoping to make reality in the next few weeks.

Also be looking for sources to detailed FREE topo maps and trail overlays to the Northeast and Mid Atlantic regions for now.

Basically areas surrounding and including the AT, detailed TOPO and trail overlays.

Any help and direction greatly appreciated since I'm a noob at this.

I'm aware of GPSFILEDEPOT.com, but don't see anything truly specific there...... am I missing the obvious?

Thanks
Dave

10-K
01-26-2011, 10:47
I'm also very new at this..... I have an eTrex Vista Hcx.

What I did was buy a memory card and load the state topo maps from gpsfiledepot on it.

Then, I either download hikes from backpacker.com or use my Nat Geo software to create a route with waypoints that is drawn on top of the topo maps I have loaded on the card.

I'm 110% certain that I've only scratched the surface of how this can be done but that's how I got started....

jerseydave
01-26-2011, 11:13
I followed along in the thread where you discovered how to do that.
One problem though is I don't see a topo map for Virginia @ GPSdepot.....???

What software actually came with your unit, and is it functional or is it less than adequate?

jerseydave
01-26-2011, 11:16
One problem though is I don't see a topo map for Virginia @ GPSdepot.....???

My bad..... it's there

10-K
01-26-2011, 11:25
My bad..... it's there

You want that.

The basemap that comes with the unit is worthless unless you're going to be on interstates 24/7. :)

Crotalus
01-26-2011, 13:41