PDA

View Full Version : Pack Weight vs Body Weight

Cosmos
01-26-2011, 23:43
I have a lot of mountain biking experience and have always made the argument that losing bodyfat will do just as much if not more good than spending extra money on ultralight parts. I feel like you should spend that money to get an edge after you have your body in check.

My question is, do you all feel this same principal applies to hiking? Would losing 5 lbs be as beneficial as dropping your pack weight 5 lbs?

I am not saying big men (and women) can't hike just as well as anyone, just that it seems silly to shell out all that money when you could just diet/exersize for free and reap the added benefit of getting in better physical condition.

Am I wrong?

Feral Bill
01-26-2011, 23:53
I recently lost about 15 pounds. It seemed to help on a snowshoe overnighter this week.

leaftye
01-27-2011, 00:01
It's not as beneficial, but it certainly is beneficial.

Here's partly why...

Weight in the pack swings around. It takes energy to control that unintended motion.

A heavy pack rides hard on the hips and limits circulation. A lighter pack allows the hip belt to be fit more loosely, thus improving circulation.

As for dropping weight, it's also relative. I could probably drop about a dozen pounds out of my pack, and have a base weight of 0 pounds...which is just silly. I could drop 80 pounds of fat and be at the weight that I was at during most of my 8 years in the military. I could drop 10-20 more pounds and be at the weight I was in high school after I stopped growing, although I think I have more muscle mass now, so I might not be able to get that light. So even if I could have a base weight of 0 pounds, losing that 12 pounds is not going to be as beneficial as dropping 80 pounds of fat.

Slo-go'en
01-27-2011, 00:23