PDA

View Full Version : How did you do it?

Graywolf
01-27-2011, 02:21
Im not just talking about the AT here. I'm talking about taking the time off to walk the triple crown back to back, or even redoing the AT again the following year. So how did you do it without a steady income?

Im not rich, but I am in a very good position to just leave it all and go walk. Indifinitely.. Except for the money.

No car payments, no house payments, nothing. I am working, saving up the money to do a thru in 2012, but very much considering on continueing on and just HIke afterwards..

So for those who have done it, how did you do it??

Gipsy
01-27-2011, 02:42
I think my work situation allows me the ability to take extended hikes. I work as a travel nurse which means I work all over the country, coast to coast, on contract to hospitals. My contracts range from 3 months to 6 months. When one contract ends, I chose when I would like to start my next one. If I decide to take a week or 6 months off is strictly up to me. I feel very fortunate to have a job that allows me so much freedom.
Other than that, I save my pennies to cover hiking expenses and monthly bills like everyone else.

I too have wondered how hard it would be to hike if I had a normal hospital position.

Working coast to coast and everywhere in between is how I got the nam "Gipsy."

maybe clem
01-27-2011, 03:32
I did it between jobs and had savings to cover expenses back home.

Pommes
01-27-2011, 07:51
I work on a kind of feast/famine routine. I get a job. I work there for a year maybe two. I save like crazy. I quit. I explore and adventure till money is close to running out. Rinse and repeat. Remember every $2500 is six months on the trail. So if you can save $10,000 you can easily be without a job for a year or more if you stay on the trail.

fredmugs
01-27-2011, 12:31