PDA

View Full Version : Summer Hiking-- How is it different?

Maple_Sky
01-29-2011, 00:26
I'm a teacher, and have June and July off. So the plan is to section-hike over the next three years, always hiking in the summer. I have a few ideas about how this will change my gear requirements, but I want to hear from some of you more experienced folks--what is going to be different about what I need and just the experience in general since it will always be summer for me?

I'm thinking about sleeping bag degrees, leaving the stove at home, whether I need a rain jacket, what kind of clothes, and all that stuff, but I'm also wondering what you think it'll be like to be behind the thru-hikers the first year, in the middle of the pack the second year, and ahead of the pack the third year. Advice? Predictions? Thanks!

BradMT
01-29-2011, 00:36
Where you hiking? The AT covers a lot of geography. Summers in the South differ greatly from those in New Hampshire and Maine for instance.

In the South, rain. Plenty of it generally. Hot, humid. Light sleeping gear, minimal clothing needed... I'd always have a stove.

Definitely short gaiters.

In Northern New England, carry something for chilly nights. I always packed a light sweater and down vest, hat and gloves. I've been snowed on above timberline in The Whites...

Maple_Sky
01-29-2011, 00:39
God and knees willing, I'm doing the whole thing... this summer Springer to Waynesboro, next summer, Waynesboro to... CT I think, third summer to Maine. So it's going to be 3 big section hikes.

Graywolf
01-29-2011, 01:15
I sectoned the Southern portion in August 2009 and even though many people here said it would be hot and humid, I was actually amazed how cool it was.. It never broke 88* and teh nights were just right aroun 60* Had rain a couple of days but it was wonderful to hike in..

If you can look at the history of the weather for the last couple of years and you will have an idea..