PDA

View Full Version : Convice a School District!!!!!

sixguns01
01-29-2011, 03:31
I'm asking you guys and gals probably the most impossible thing ever; how do I convince my school to let me take off 5 months to do a thru hike? I am an high school English teacher. I'd be willing to blog and update my adventures (daily routines) for the school when I can along the trail. I can take off from my Summer job to do something like this, but the rest of the time I would need my school to allow it.

I understand that this may not be the normal question here, but I have to assume that other teachers have gone through thid. Any hep???!

PS I in the NE

Pommes
01-29-2011, 04:00
Simply lie. My ex mother in law took 6 months off to care for her mother after a surgery. Ask for a six month leave of absence. These days no one is gonna just let you go.

Roland
01-29-2011, 04:42
Lies and deception can snowball and lead to termination. Don't be caught of FMLA fraud. Better to work within the system to get what you want.

Many teacher contracts have an option for a one year leave of absence (one year coinciding with the school year). This benefit is not automatic; you must be granted approval. Consider requesting a LOA. An English teacher should be able to write a convincing letter to the superintendent. Show how this leave will make you a better educator. How does this trek advance your professional development plan? Include ties to education, i.e. sending weekly updates to a Geography class, as they follow your progress along the east coast. Develop sample lesson plans, to be used by colleagues whose classes will follow your progress. This will help win their support.

Be sure to question the status of your benefits, if you are granted the LOA. The district will likely not continue to pay their share of your health insurance, in your absence.