PDA

View Full Version : Harmony Food Dehydrated Food Recipes???

sixguns01
01-30-2011, 15:39
I have a Harmony Foods Backpacking Kit and now I need to know what I can make with it. I have never worked with dehydrated foods before so I don't really know what specifically can be done. Looking for just add water recipes?

-Any recipes for One serving size meals?
-Any other ingredients to work with? Cous Cous? Meats?
-How much water to add?

Thanks for helping the naive.
__________________________________________________ ___________

I made one of the recipes it comes with-

Sundown Stew-
1/4 cup Northern Bean
1 tsp Onions
1 tsp Carrots
1 tsp Diced Potatoes
1 Cup Water
Added myself
1 tsp peppers
1 tsp tomatoes

I boiled the cup of water and added it to ziplock with the ingredients for 15 min.

More water than food. Seemed like I added too much water.

What's wrong?

Northern Lights
01-30-2011, 16:00
The recipe says to simmer for 10 minutes that may be the difference. I have the same kit and I'll give it a try, see if I have the same problem.

In reality sometimes it's just trial and error, reducing the amount of water until you find the right mix.

grayfox
01-30-2011, 16:17
I am sure you will get lots of feedback with recipes. But to speak to the problem of too much water, here is how I use HH dry foods. I use them at home as well as hiking. First, some things rehydrate more quickly than others. Beans, carrots, and celery may take a bit longer or even need some simmering--experience will tell you how long. You can also eat nearly all HH food dry, not that I would do that all the time, but I do taste the dry foods to see if they are still fresh. I like the freeze dried corn, peas, and beans dry. I think there might be a use for these in a gorp-like mix.