PDA

View Full Version : Gravity Filter

208AT
02-01-2011, 14:33
We're going on a hike with 8 people,and we were wondering if a gravity filter is a good addition to our pumps.A few questions though.Do they purify as well as pumps?And are they worth their weight?

lutefisk
02-08-2011, 11:43
I usually have groups out about 6 weeks each year and I've been using a gravity filter as our primary for the past 2 years. The Platypus filter is 0.2 microns and the Sawyer is 0.1 microns, comparable to pump filters. As with all filters it helps if you pre-filter whenever there is a lot of sediment and debris in the water source. You can backflush the filter as needed during the trip to keep it flowing fast. Also, never let your filter freeze. They are fast and the weight isn't bad, especially considering the volume of water you can filter with little effort. As always, have a back-up plan - Aquamira, bleach, iodine, or whatever.

Chuch
02-08-2011, 12:36
We are hiking with the Platypus Gravityworks for varying reasons. If you get rid of the good water bag (we are since we are carrying Big Zip bladders) then you shave 5 oz off the package. The 4 L bag, with inline filter weighs in at 7 oz then.

Whats cool is the ability to purchase a few accessories and have the in line filter flow directly into your bladder without even taking it out of your pack.

couscous
02-08-2011, 13:36
I carry a Platypus Clean Stream Gravity Filter when hiking with the scouts. Easy way to filter gallons of water for a group.

Luddite
02-08-2011, 13:46
We are hiking with the Platypus Gravityworks for varying reasons. If you get rid of the good water bag (we are since we are carrying Big Zip bladders) then you shave 5 oz off the package. The 4 L bag, with inline filter weighs in at 7 oz then.

Whats cool is the ability to purchase a few accessories and have the in line filter flow directly into your bladder without even taking it out of your pack.