PDA

View Full Version : Snow Shoes

ChinMusic
02-05-2011, 17:49
I've never used them before. I've never even had them on before.

For someone that has not used them:

1. How hard are they to get used to?

2. Do they fry some muscle that doesn't get used as much with just walking?

I'm kinda afraid to use them on a trip only to find some leg muscle just can't hack it.

Colter
02-05-2011, 17:53
Unless you're accustomed to them you'll definitely feel it the next day if you walk very far in them, just like skiing or skating or most things along that line, I suppose.

It feels funny to walk on them at first, but you'll learn the basics very quickly.

Slo-go'en
02-05-2011, 18:58
Not hard at all to get used to. Quite the work out if your breaking trail in freash snow. Besides sinking in a foot, you lift a lot of that snow back up with each step. In conditions like that, 1/2 mile an hour is a fast pace. Its a lot easier if someone has gone ahead of you or on a groomed trail.

I've been going out a couple times a week on the trail near my place this winter, keeping it packed down after each new storm. I figure I'll be in great shape for backpacking this spring! In fact, just got back from a 3 mile loop this afternoon. I was glad to see someone from Mass had gone up ahead of me so I didn't have to break trail again today.

johnnybgood
02-05-2011, 19:35
My experience was they where a little hard to manever at first and you will inevitablely step on one with the other when trying to make a sharp turn.

The learning curve is small though, and you should pick it up the first spin around the block.
The boot clamp needed to be adjusted a few times till I got the jist of it.

Slosteppin
02-05-2011, 20:23
Snowshoeing can be just plain hard work. Be prepared to remove layers. The muscles used are very similar to walking. The big difference is that you are lifting 2 or 3 pounds more with each foot with each step than you do on a summer hike.