PDA

View Full Version : Big Agnes Fly Creek

NYRGTO
02-07-2011, 19:43
Has anyone used one of them? I'm a little concerned about the 1200mm waterproofing and if that might be a problem on an AT thru-hike. Anyone have experience with one?

WhoDey
02-07-2011, 20:08
I have no experience with the Big Agnes tent you are mentioning, but I do use a Tarptent made with 1200mm silnylon. In my experience, it has handled all rain here in the Southeast really well. I have never gotten wet from rain, only from condensation which does not apply to your double wall tent. 1200mm should work just fine. The floor is something you need to check since that is where all the pressure is being applied to. That is why I use a tyvek groundcloth.

obscura
02-07-2011, 20:15
I have a Fly Creek 1 and have used in several good rains with no problems.

Used it one night when 4.5 inches of rain fell in about 6 hours. I was perfectly dry. My shoes in the vestibule floated several feet away.

Also used a different night and woke up with about 1.5" of water all the way around the tent. Floor felt a bit squishy and cold, and think it would have soaked through eventually, but again, also dry.

I trust it. I'm taking it on my thru in a few weeks.

sixguns01
02-07-2011, 20:15
Has anyone used one of them? I'm a little concerned about the 1200mm waterproofing and if that might be a problem on an AT thru-hike. Anyone have experience with one?

I have used the Fly Creek 2 and still do. Stuck in through day long down pour and it held up quite well. No leaks. Ground sheet or footprint is worth it.

One concern- front entry rainfly flap will allow a small amount of water in if you are not careful and slow when unzipping. Takes awhile to get used too but not a big deal.

Have fun

mweinstone
02-07-2011, 20:18
not anything big agnus makes would i be caught dead with. i am a black diamond marmot patagonia msr cult member.

Dirty Nails
02-08-2011, 00:11