PDA

View Full Version : End of Feb hike prep help

Mtn Scout
02-07-2011, 23:50
we are doing a 3d/2n hike the last weekend in feb. i am trying to get my pack down to 30lbs including water and everything. how would you guys pack?? looking for a complete list down to amount of food. i think i am way overpacked but i cant quit thinking i would rather have it than not. i will try to post my list later this evening. my biggest decision is the amount of clothing to take and which s. bag. i have a 25degree and a 15degree and there is about a lb difference in weight, any help is appreciated:D

TheChop
02-08-2011, 01:21
we are doing a 3d/2n hike the last weekend in feb. i am trying to get my pack down to 30lbs including water and everything. how would you guys pack?? looking for a complete list down to amount of food. i think i am way overpacked but i cant quit thinking i would rather have it than not. i will try to post my list later this evening. my biggest decision is the amount of clothing to take and which s. bag. i have a 25degree and a 15degree and there is about a lb difference in weight, any help is appreciated:D

Depends where you're hiking and your hiking list. Biggest thing to do to reduce pack weight is to weigh everything and put it in a spread sheet. Gets real easy to drop weight when it is an actual number and you can see what leaving x and y behind does to the weight.

I did a shakedown hike at the beginning of Jan. it was 45/25 in terms of temps. I figure that's about as low as I'll face on the usual for the first month.

10-K
02-08-2011, 09:50
The first place I would look is food. I know I tend to consistently come home with extra food (weight).

Another suggestion would be to consider how much water you want to carry at one time... A quart of water weighs 2 lbs... I used to start out with 2 quarts (liters actually). Now I generally start with 1 - a weight savings of 2 lbs right there.