PDA

View Full Version : Help a fat guy please

LordoftheWings
02-12-2011, 14:56
I'm new here so please don't crucify me if I step on toes.
I'm planning a 2011 hike thru NOBO and I'm gathering gear and info. This forum has been very helpful so far. I've been lurking for awhile. My biggest problem (no Pun) is the size of gear I require. I'm 6'2'' and 375 lbs. I wear a 14 shoe-sometimes 15 boot. I know I'm asking a lot from manufacturers to provide quality gear my size but I haven't always been, nor will I always be this freak of nature. I need recommendations on everything from clothes to cameras. You would be hard pressed to hurt my feelings so speak up please. I may never get another chance to do this life-long dream, I must start it under less than desirable weight/endurance conditions. Seriously be candid and think of what would best serve my safety and comfort. I'm a 11 year firefighter/EMT I've had my share of heavy packs. I understand that with proper size comes added carry weight. BTW, I'm not a go-freezer.:D

LordoftheWings
02-12-2011, 14:59
I forgot to mention. I currently wear 4x tall shirts and 48x32 pants. I think my last wedding measurement was 62' chest. (yes I need a man-zire)

Driver8
02-12-2011, 15:10
When do you plan to start? What is your time window? One thing I'd say is to get to exercising, in every form possible, as much as possible, right away.

I am similar in build to you, relative to my height. Got into hiking last year. Have pretty well always been active - diet and metabolism, more than level of activity, are the chief issue. Anyhow, the more I hiked last year, the stronger my legs and back and core got. As to gear, etc. I'm not a gear expert. But I can tell you, based on experience, that you can whip into shape with experience. Just keep in mind that every day on the trail, with maybe a day off each week, is probably a lot more than you've done in a long time. Best get to emulating that asap.

Freedom Walker
02-12-2011, 15:41