PDA

View Full Version : AT Teaching Kit

Heavy G
02-14-2011, 12:43
I am a graduate student in NJ and an avid backpacker. I am creating a teaching kit to be used with kids grades 3-5. The theme of the teaching kit is "Seeing the USA through the Appalachian Trail".

I am asking all of my fellow AT enthusiast for help. I can use any articles, information, stories you may have. Also, Pictures. I'd love pictures of the Trail. I have mostly pictures from Central PA- NJ. If you send me pics, Please let me know when and where it was taken. I appreciate your help.

The kit will incorporate Social Studies, Science, Geography, Physical Education and Math.

Thanks for the help.

Heavy G

jlo
02-14-2011, 15:27
That is such a great idea!! I'm a teacher and have been wanting to talk about hiking, etc., but haven't really taken the time to put anything together (with everything else that needs to be done at school). Good luck with this!

Captain Blue
02-14-2011, 16:21
A fourth grade teacher in my hometown created an Appalachian Trail project for her students. She was chosen to present it at the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics conference in 2007... "The Appalachian Trail project integrates math with real-life skills through a simulation of walking the Appalachian Trail. It was selected for presentation out of 3,000 entries."

Send me a PM or email if you want her contact info.

Roche
02-14-2011, 18:06
Heavy G