PDA

View Full Version : Questions for an educated/experienced AT hiker.

mot13ley
02-25-2011, 13:54
Hey guys,

I'm a college student, and I'm planning on month-long backpacking trip on the AT. It's mostly for time to get away and relax before I have to start working to pay for next semester expenses. I'm starting just a few miles down in the road in Port Clinton, Pa. I'm looking for an average price most people spend on a month hike. And I'm heading North Bound any guesses on how far I can make it before the month is over?

With the greatest appreciation,
mot13ley

sparky2000
02-25-2011, 14:07
A hard one to answer - there are to many unknowns - if u intend to sleep out every night and pay only for food - get free showers in the creek and free hostels (Dele wtr gap) then give ur self an average of 15 miles a day and do the math.

Cookerhiker
02-25-2011, 14:09
Hey guys,

I'm a college student, and I'm planning on month-long backpacking trip on the AT. It's mostly for time to get away and relax before I have to start working to pay for next semester expenses. I'm starting just a few miles down in the road in Port Clinton, Pa. I'm looking for an average price most people spend on a month hike. And I'm heading North Bound any guesses on how far I can make it before the month is over?

With the greatest appreciation,
mot13ley

Assuming you're in decent condition, averaging about 13 miles per day gets you to Bennington, VT (state rt. 9). Until you get to Greenwood Lake NY, your hike will have very little up and down so you can make good time. But that depends on how nimble-footed you are in dealing with the fabled PA rocks.

If you reach Bennington with time to spare, the next major road crossing is 40 miles further at Rt. 11 & 30 outside Manchester.

Perhaps you can hike faster or more miles since you have longer daylight. But you also have town days for resupply and perhaps a night or 2 in a hostel or motel throughout your hike.

Good luck - hope it works!

bigcranky