PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - pack question

CivilAir Rugger
02-26-2011, 02:23
I'm new to the AT and haven't done any extended hikes so I haven't had need of a big pack. So my question is what kind of pack should I buy for a section hike??

Croft
02-26-2011, 07:35
I bring pretty much the same stuff whether it's a 6-day or a 6-month hike. Only get it large enough to fit your gear inside and make sure the pack fits YOU well, too. Try to keep your pack weight including food and water under 30 pounds. When I bought my pack, I literally brought all my gear to the store to see what size pack I needed to fit all my stuff. I bought a Deuter 60+10 but then I bought some lighter weight, more compressable gear and a 50+10 would have been plenty large. (The +10 is extra space using the expansion collar which I only used when I had bulkier winter gear.) There are many excellent packs on the market. Check out the gear tabs of last year's and this year's hikers at http://trailjournals.com to get an idea of what others have used. Good luck!

EastCoastFeastCoast
02-26-2011, 08:36
I just got a Deuter and i LOVE it... but Croft is right, get what fit's you best. Go to the gear shop and try em all on. They usually have some spare stuff sacks with dead weight in them, that way you can get a feel for how it fits weighted down.

crazystick
02-26-2011, 09:53
You don't need too big a pack actually, 3000(+\-) cubic inches or 60 liters is the norm.

CivilAir Rugger
02-26-2011, 10:30
What do you mean by "gear shop"? Where are these located? The only things I keep finding are online shops

Hikes in Rain
02-26-2011, 10:43
You're in South Carolina?

Map (http://maps.google.com/maps?q=south+carolina+outfitter&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wl)

Mongoose2
02-26-2011, 11:02