PDA

View Full Version : Personal Preference??

CivilAir Rugger
02-26-2011, 11:14
I'm new to the hiking family and I know that a 2 person tent has more room and weighs more than a 1 person tent, but if I want to store my pack in the tent with me would a 1 person tent suffice? Also is it better to have a free standing tent or not?

swjohnsey
02-26-2011, 11:43
Ask three people get four opinions. Free standing tents are probably a little heavier but easier to set up and a little more flexible because you can pitch on concrete if you have to. Whether you get a one or two person tent depends on how big you are. There is no standard on what a one or two person tent is. With some of the non-free standing tent your hiking poles serve as tent poles which accounts for some of the lighter weight.

Mongoose2
02-26-2011, 12:00
Some 1 man tents will fit you and a pack (Big Agnes SL 1, tarptents, etc) while some will not. It depends on the tent size. As for free standing or not, most hikers use a freestanding due to the ease of set up and versatility. If a roomy tent is a must check out the BA SL 1, I believe it's on sale at amazon for $199

bulldog49
02-26-2011, 13:15
Any one man tent is large enough to store your pack. At the least, you can use it as a pillow or lay it under you feet.

Rick500
02-26-2011, 13:28
I can only relate my personal experience: the Tarptent Moment is big enough for me and my pack to fit very comfortably inside. I'm 5'10" and 160 lbs., and my pack is an Osprey Aether 60.

Cabin Fever
02-26-2011, 13:52
Like all good things in life, it depends. If you are of average size or smaller, a one man will suffice. If you are are a bigger guy like me, you might consider a two man or a larger tarp tent. I am 6'2"/220 and I have found that one man tents are too small, two man tents are too big and one man tarp tents are just about right (and light too).

tnwolf51
02-26-2011, 14:45
i use an ozarktrail 7x7 dome tent works perfect for all use

Mongoose2
02-26-2011, 14:50