PDA

View Full Version : Fireflies in June 2011

catzby
02-27-2011, 14:54
I want to take a hike in June to enjoy the fireflies overnight. Is there anywhere other than Elkmont that has fireflies where you can camp and enjoy the show?

Helios
02-27-2011, 15:00
I've seen fireflies through VA, WV, MD and PA along the AT from June - August.

Lilred
02-27-2011, 17:30
I think we have finally exhausted all possible questions to ask.....please turn off the lights and close the door...

HeartFire
02-27-2011, 17:56
you could probably camp at campsite 20 on Meigs Mountain trail and hike in, though you would have to night hike back about 3 miles. I too would love to go see the synchronous fire flies there

catzby
02-28-2011, 11:41
Thanks for the information HeartFire... I am new to this not sure I'm ready for a hike in the dark yet. :) I've just been reading a lot about the "blue ghost" fireflies and how they appear in Mid June in Elkmont...also in the Congaree State Park in May. Some years they are more prominent than others... One lady noted that they were so numerous that her horse tried to step up onto them...

I have see fireflies but not these particular ones....

Lilred....I did chuckle to myself from your post as I'm sure there are more important issues than fireflies for the thru hikers etc. I had hoped than those of you who are more familiar with the trails could direct me somewhere other than the crowded Elkmont Campground....They close the road to the campground during the fireflies peak showing and haul people in and out via bus. I wanted to bring our 10 year old grand kids and make a few days of it but I don't want to get caught up in the tourist traps.

Thanks Again.

Delta-Dawn
02-28-2011, 11:56