PDA

View Full Version : Good Boots for Rolling Arches? (To ankles, please)

KatieV
02-28-2011, 08:59
:welcomeHello, I was just wondering what a good choice would be for good hiking boots for someone with rolling arches. I go through regular (Nike)running shoes pretty fast, I usually have to put inserts in them to keep my balance. Gets extremely annoying, let me tell you! Those are my everyday shoes, also. I would prefer something that goes up past the ankle if possible. I really don't know where to start for these and would appreciate any ideas or suggestions. Thank you!!
:D

ekeverette
03-24-2011, 19:56
i have the same problem...... vasque rangers,gtx

Mrs Baggins
03-25-2011, 06:22
I've been wearing Hi-Tec Altitude IV's since 2002. My ankles roll over very easily and those boots have saved me too many times to count. They're also waterproof and one of the best deals expense-wise. I have collapsing arches and make up my own inserts and arch supports from over the counter brands. Works every bit as well as the pricey Rx orthotics I've had.

DBCFlash
03-25-2011, 07:35
Merrell Refuge have given me a lot of support and I haven't once rolled an ankle after I started wearing them.

mark schofield
03-28-2011, 08:13
X2 on the Hi-Tec Altitude lV. for me they are comfortable and have worn well.

The Old Boot
03-28-2011, 08:56
If the problem is really, really bad you might want to consider an actual brace rather than just firm sided boots.

I broke one ankle (2 screws to put it together) and sprained the other ankle stepping off the bottom step on an outdoor stair. The x-rays showed that I had previously broken the sprained ankle and had treated it like a bad sprain.

Since I had a 45 year history of regular sprains in each ankle and/or torn ligaments I knew that if I wanted to continue any kind of active lifestyle it was time for drastic measures.

After a lot of research into various brace types I now wear a pair of T2 ankle braces anytime I step outside my door.