PDA

View Full Version : New Hiker

ATHiker11
03-03-2011, 20:11
Hello All. I am new to the forum and I would like to get some general information on everything I need to hike the AT. What works and what does not work. I am looking at hiking either later this month or next year. Can anyone help me. I hope this is posted in the right area. If it is not, can someone please let me know where to move it. Thank You

Cookerhiker
03-03-2011, 20:24
You've come to the right place and lots of folks will help. Now you'll probably hear - maybe even on this thread - that so-and-so was a total newby, just started hiking the AT one day, and finished. But for everyone who takes that approach and successfully thruhikes, there are likely scores who don't get far at all.

Can you provide a little more info on where you are and what you're planning? Are you intending a thruhike of the entire AT? When you say you're "new to hiking," does that mean you haven't hiked at all or perhaps not overnight?

Helios
03-03-2011, 20:26
You've asked a very broad question. What works and what doesn't is often dependant on the person. For instance, some like tents, some just a tarp, some in hammocks,.... Some cook with cannister stoves, some home made alcohol stoves... all of these work, all are personal choices.

Look around, get some ideas, try some things out for your self. If you really want to get some eyes on good scoop, hop down to Mountain Crossing. The AT goes right through and arch way between the buildings there. The staff there have everything you need to be outfitted with, and know hiking - especially the AT. It's not that far from where you are and would be worth the tril.

http://www.mountaincrossings.com/contact-us.aspx

mountain squid
03-03-2011, 20:40