PDA

View Full Version : Long Underwear recomendations

Undershaft
03-10-2011, 18:28
I'm looking for recomendations for a set of long underwear. I will be leaving 4/11 from Springer and sleeping in a hammock. I've no doubt I will experience at least a few really cold nights and need some decent long johns to keep me warm. They will be worn around camp under a pair of lightweight nylon pants and a fleece jacket. I don't have any experience with spring weather in the south. It seems everyone uses patagonia capilene. Which would you recomend the capilene 1, 2, or 3? What would you recomend as a less expensive option? I'd prefer not to spend $80 or more on long underwear for the trail. Thanks!

HiKen2011
03-10-2011, 18:32
Check into Terramar products from campmor, I use them, I have the lighweight and medium weight.

johnnyblisters
03-10-2011, 18:52
Check into Terramar products from campmor, I use them, I have the lighweight and medium weight.

I've been considering the Terramar silk long underwear for my sleeping gear. How warm are these compared to med weight normal long underwear. They would save me about a half a # for $40...

Rick500
03-10-2011, 19:45
I have Terramar long underwear and like them, but I don't think they're the silk version.

Bags4266
03-10-2011, 19:50
I like my Terramar silk bottoms for cool to mild weather, weigh in at 3 oz and keeps all the funk off my sleeping bag or quilts.

fredmugs
03-10-2011, 20:34
I only bring cheap long underwear so I can't help you there but you need to be more concerned with the quilt or underquilt you are bringing for your hammock.

I only section hike but I remember one night in SNP when the low got down to 40 (forecast was for low 50s) and I froze my butt off in my hammock. I had on long underwear, a sweat shirt, had to dig out my rain jacket, and my 45 degree bag didn't cut it. I was so cold I almost started night hiking.

Papa D
03-11-2011, 08:20