PDA

View Full Version : Which part of the trail was the most crowded?

wanderluster
03-11-2011, 02:12
1. Did you hike north or southbound, section hike, etc?
2. Which state did you find the most crowded & what month was it?
3. When did you start?

I'm new to the Appalachian trail. I thought this was an interesting question (always love to hear about others experiences) I'm also trying to plan a 2 1/2 month section hike in the summer and avoid crowds and excessive heat. If you have any advice for me in the way of my goals, I'd appreciate that too.

fredmugs
03-11-2011, 08:05
The only part of the trail that was bad for me was when I section hiked NOBO from the northern end of SNP to Pen Mar Park. It was in April and, unfortunately, I hit the MD section on a nice warm spring weekend and all the day hikers were out. I must have run into over 200 people on the trail that day.

My advice: Stay away from the national parks and the DC area. If you want to avoid crowds and heat I would plan on finishing on Katahdin and then make your best guess as to where to start heading NOBO based on your ability. You could go SOBO from Katahdin but then you'll have the SOBO thru hikers to deal with but I don't think you'll have crowds.

Ender
03-11-2011, 08:11
NOBO, started March 15th ended September 15th. The first 50 miles were by far the most crowded with thru hikers for me. That slowly lessened as the miles went by.

For day hikers/weekenders... SNP was very crowded. Also, the Smokies, and White Mountain NF in NH were also pretty crowded.

Marta
03-11-2011, 08:14
SOBO. The Whites in August were loaded with hikers. NOBOs going north, but mostly day and weekend hikers. The huts were packed to the max.

TheCheek
03-11-2011, 08:49
Nobo, april 4.
GA through GSNP in early to mid April. GSNP was crowded at the shelters especially.
The whites in august were also crowded at the huts so we stealthed a few of the nights.

Roots
03-11-2011, 08:55