PDA

View Full Version : Health insurance - hikers from abroad

HockeyGirl
03-12-2011, 07:22
Hi

Hoping to get some ideas from past hikers from overseas.
I'm coming from the UK next year to thru hike and am wondering whether to simply get a travel insurance policy for the year to cover me, or whether I should try and actually get US health insurance?

I'm a little worried about how effective the travel policy might be for getting treatment - I just want something that will be reliable.

Anyone out there with experience of this?

Thanks

Doc Mike
03-12-2011, 08:45
As a Physician I don't take the travel policies but most emergency rooms will.

Worst case you can pay for the visit and file against the travel policy on your own for reimbursement.

Doc Mike

Kaptain Kangaroo
03-12-2011, 15:11
I used a travel insurance policy. Luckily I did not need to use it, but I did check the policy out very carefully before deciding on it. Travel insurance does exclude some types of activity, but I have never seen one that excludes hiking.
Travel insurance is very cost-effective & also covers you for travel related problems as well as medical treatment, so you should probably should have it anyway.

As always, read the details & know exactly what you ae getting & if it suits your needs.

Cheers,

Kaptain

blitz1
03-17-2011, 06:46