PDA

View Full Version : Trekking pole question for 6'6 260lbs +/-

NCarolinaHiker
03-18-2011, 01:13
I'm 6'6 and 260 lbs or so (and dropping) and am looking to buy some trekking poles. I've never used them before so I don't know how I'll want them set whether it's higher or lower, and at some point may use them with a shelter.

I know about what size I need for length but am curious what poles will be able to hold my weight should I ever need them to.

Anybody here my size or thereabouts can toss a recommendation my way? Much appreciated.

swjohnsey
03-18-2011, 09:55
Not sure about the weight thing but you can get decent poles at Walmart that are Black Diamond clones (maybe made by the folks who make the Black Diamond poles) They were about $13/each last time I look at 'em.

I have a pair of Black Diamond Trail and took 'em up to Walmart and compared 'em side by side.

Slo-go'en
03-18-2011, 10:06
Pole length is adjustable, so you can find your optimum length. I set mine so my fore arms are parallel to the ground, and one is often longer than the other due to the side slope of the trail.

I've seen too many bent Swiss Gear poles from W-M to recommend them to a big guy. You'd probably want one of the heavier duty Liki poles.

NCarolinaHiker
03-18-2011, 10:57
I thought about the Walmart poles to start with but am looking for something more permanent (relatively speaking). Something that if I ever had to rely on them with my body weight I'll at least have a hope that they'll hold. The Walmart poles work for many, but not at my height and weight and not necessarily when they need it the most - should that need ever arrive.

Slo - do you know which models are the heavier duty? I suppose I could shoot some emails to Leki and Black Diamond.

Thanks.

Berserker
03-18-2011, 12:25