PDA

View Full Version : Southbound in June, anyone?

mtnbrooke7
01-12-2005, 21:43
Hi all, I'm an art teacher so I've got to finish up this school year but I'm thinking about starting a SOBO thru hike in June. I'm going to try to get a leave of absence until December so I can do the whole thing. Anyone out there also planning to start in maine around that time? Just curious, and it would be nice to have a partner. I'm 26, in good shape, not sure how many miles a day I'll do, probably build up as I go. :)

TJ aka Teej
01-12-2005, 22:45
Anyone out there also planning to start in maine around that time? Maine's wicked nice in June, mtnbrooke! You should have plenty of AT company, by mid-June '04 over 100 hikers had left Baxter State Park on their way south into the 100 Mile Wilderness. Bring DEET, a head net, and plan on tenting so you're not 'bugged' all night. And don't forget that only northbound longdistance hikers can stay at the AT site inside Baxter. I always recommend that MEGAs book a site at Katahdin Stream Campground for the nights before and after their climb. For info on reservations at Baxter: www.baxterstateparkauthority.com (http://www.baxterstateparkauthority.com/)
Have a great hike, and :welcome to WhiteBlaze!

Nameless
01-13-2005, 05:47
Hello!

I'm also starting a SOBO in June, waiting for school to end. I'm currently planning to leave June 4, but am considering delaying it a week. I will be hiking the first part of the trail (the 100 miles) with my mother, and be alone for the rest. I dont plan to go very fast, i have all the time in the world, taking a year off of school. If you interesting in hikeing for part of the trip it could be interesting :)

Pink

minnesotasmith
01-13-2005, 07:12