PDA

View Full Version : I am an addict

paistes5
03-18-2011, 13:37
Hello, my name is David and I am an addict.

I am a complete noob to backpacking and this place is fueling my new found addiction. I have always camped and/or hiked and decided to finally bite the bullet and go backpacking. I've always wanted to but always put it off.

Well, after a ton of reading and research I became REI's new best friend along with a number of other places and got all of my gear. I've been out twice so far this year and can't seem to get enough. All I do is think about backpacking and where I can go next.

I'm addicted to this site and love all the input and humor. The advice is great and the experiences all of you share are wonderful.

I'm sure I'll ask some dumb noob questions from time to time, but I just wanted to say thanks for this wonderful resource and introduce myself.

Cabin Fever
03-18-2011, 13:40
:welcome

to the site and to the addict club. Researching more gear right now... (as usual).

Smile
03-18-2011, 13:45
Youre not alone here.....

Mountain Wildman
03-18-2011, 15:16
Welcome!!
You sound just like me a little over a year ago.

Two Tents
03-18-2011, 15:21
Yea! I feel all your pain. I have an outfitter or two on speed dial and USPS, FED EX, Ups ECT. are all book marked so I can track stuff fast. I know the UPS drivers by name. Sweet hobby-HUH?

paistes5
03-18-2011, 15:46
I used to race motorcycles and I thought that was addicting. This addiction is much worse. Thank goodness it's not as expensive. :D

d.o.c
03-18-2011, 15:49
whammmy getn ready to score my fix today and tomorow hopefully i wont be trailsick on sunday.. but welcome

zeus307
03-18-2011, 15:49
JOIN THE CLUB!!! and WELCOME TO MY WORLD!!! Nothing wrong with it, i to am an addict so to say. It's all good. Hike long and propser life, it is to short!!!

Many Walks
03-18-2011, 17:06
Yup, when the hiking bug bites all you can do is feed it.

blitz1
03-18-2011, 17:09