PDA

View Full Version : how do i convince family that im not going to die out there?

Ipath
03-21-2011, 16:02
i have plenty of outdoor experience and have been hiking threw the mountains tons of times. but my family lives under a giant cape of fear of everything that isn't outside of there little box there scared of. all they say is how people get killed out here on the trail every-year. witch i dont think is true at all and how they dont want me going cause they think im gonna die just like every time i go hiking. how do i convince them that this just simply is not the case. all they talk about is how im gonna disappear and get lost:rolleyes:. this happens everytime i go hiking but because i will be gone for so long this time there really freaking out. i have tried everything possible that i can think of. how do i convince them?

bigmac_in
03-21-2011, 16:10
I see you are from Indiana - want me to come talk to them? :D

Raul Perez
03-21-2011, 16:11
Tell your family to flip the bill for a Spot 2 so they can track you on google map. It also allows you to send text messages letting them know you are ok and if you are in real serious danger you can hit the Rescue button.

http://www.gpstrackersandmore.com/spot2-gps-tracker

bigmac_in
03-21-2011, 16:13
Tell your family to flip the bill for a Spot 2 so they can track you on google map. It also allows you to send text messages letting them know you are ok and if you are in real serious danger you can hit the Rescue button.

Screw that - they need to get over it. You are in more danger just getting to the trail than being on it.

sheepdog
03-21-2011, 16:14
Screw that - they need to get over it. You are in more danger just getting to the trail than being on it.
Don't sugar coat it, just say what's on your mind. :D

Ipath
03-21-2011, 16:16