PDA

View Full Version : $440 and still cold

markmack
03-27-2011, 17:22
slept out last night got down to 20F which is what my WM alpine light is rated to and i was on my therma rest pro light pad, wow was i cold. i had on rocky heavy weight base layer, smartwool socks and a beanie. if i laid on my back my feet got cold, if i laid on my side my side got cold. this is my first year with this bag and i am kinda disapointed i had hoped spending the money on whats suposed to be the best i would be warm.

swjohnsey
03-27-2011, 17:25
I'll give you a hundred bucks for it.

Pedaling Fool
03-27-2011, 17:25
:p:p:p:p:p

Tinker
03-27-2011, 17:29
One-ten!
Seriously, try a thicker pad or try closed cell foam. I think it's a combination of your metabolism and the pad.
Then, if you still have trouble, the $110.00 offer still applies. :)

ChinMusic
03-27-2011, 17:31
Geez at 20°, I am comfortable barefoot with my Nunatak Skaha in my 30° bag......

You must sleep cold.

ekeverette
03-27-2011, 17:32
hey, i wish someone would give you some advice,because i'm cold natured and would like some ideas.

Dancer
03-27-2011, 17:32
What's the inseam? :D

jbwood5
03-27-2011, 17:33
Takes about 3 days of sleeping in the cold for my body to get used to it. For a couple of days you might need wool socks and a ski hat but by the 4th day you'll probably be fine.

ChinMusic
03-27-2011, 17:35
hey, i wish someone would give you some advice,because i'm cold natured and would like some ideas.
It's a GREAT bag.

Wear down parka. Wear down pants. Wear down booties. Wear balaclava. Wear gloves.

Know yourself and adjust to it. Some folks need to carry a warmer bag than others.

Ain't rocket science.

FatMan
03-27-2011, 17:37
I agree with Tinker. It's likely the pad that is not insulating you from the ground.

russb
03-27-2011, 17:38
Sounds like the issue is not the bag, but your pad. As another has mentioned, get some ccf, make sure your feet are off the ground (on top of your pack works well).

John B