PDA

View Full Version : I Need advice on a knife to take hiking!!

Invictus Maneo
03-28-2011, 13:21
Greetings, I need advice on a knife to take hiking. I'm in the market and don't know what to buy. What do I look for? What should I be prepared to spend? Functionality? HELP!!

4eyedbuzzard
03-28-2011, 13:27
Any small good quality knife will do. I've been using the same Gerber LST for some 20 years now. 1.2 ounces and it cuts stuff just fine.

Skid.
03-28-2011, 14:05
Ditto on any small knife. I carry one, and have hiked many sections of the AT without ever having taken it out of my pack.

Llama Legs
03-28-2011, 14:06
I've been using a Swiss Army "card" for years. When I think I might need more of a survival tool, I stick in a pocket my folding-locking knife that has a serrated section on the blade.

Lone Wolf
03-28-2011, 14:07
Greetings, I need advice on a knife to take hiking. I'm in the market and don't know what to buy. What do I look for? What should I be prepared to spend? Functionality? HELP!!

for protection?

Mountain Wildman
03-28-2011, 14:22
Quite a few hikers carry tiny little knives like keychain swiss army knives, Which is perfectly adequate as long as you don't have to do any real cutting.
I was going to carry a folding pocket knife until one I was using last week to demonstrate a fire starter released and put a nice gash in my thumb, As a result I have decided to suck up the few extra ounces and carry a fixed blade knife, I only use quality knives so I will most likely carry something like this Bark River Bravo Necker which is stainless and less prone to rust and is available in a 2.5" blade or 3.5" blade, It only weighs a couple of ounces and has handles available if you don't care for the skeletonized frame.
http://www.knivesshipfree.com/index.php?cPath=465_712_713

form
03-28-2011, 14:29
3 inch swiss army type with sissors

endubyu
03-28-2011, 14:31