PDA

View Full Version : Too cold for overnight?

Amanita
03-28-2011, 17:21
I'm considering doing a 4 night hike, and the forecast is for 40F during the day and 20-30F at night. Is this too cold for comfortable camping? I have a 15 degree sleeping bag, and will likely sleep in several layers of clothing.

I've never been camping in below freezing temps before, so any advice would be appreciated.

DBCFlash
03-28-2011, 17:36
I just did last weekend. First time cold weather camping since I was a child. Be prepared, You'll need an insulated pad, and a 15 degree bag might feel chilly to you at those temps. Filling a water bottle with hot water and putting it in the bag might help, chemical hand warmers between the layers of your socks works if your feet feel cold. Fleece jammies and a cap work too.
There's nothing better than a hot drink first thing in the morning after sleeping outside in the cold.

Rocket Jones
03-28-2011, 17:55
Can you do a test night on your porch or backyard? Better to find out there than on the trail if you need to tweak your gear for the cold.

Tipi Walter
03-28-2011, 18:01
Can you do a test night on your porch or backyard? Better to find out there than on the trail if you need to tweak your gear for the cold.

DEFINITELY recommend this. Throw a sleeping pad and bag on your porch or deck or yard, or set up a shelter, and 1) get used to sleeping on a pad, and 2) see how your bag works in cool to cold temps. You could spend weeks sleeping outside on a deck or in a yard---why wait for "the trip"?

hikingshoes
03-28-2011, 18:09
DEFINITELY recommend this. Throw a sleeping pad and bag on your porch or deck or yard, or set up a shelter, and 1) get used to sleeping on a pad, and 2) see how your bag works in cool to cold temps. You could spend weeks sleeping outside on a deck or in a yard---why wait for "the trip"?