PDA

View Full Version : Cold Feet

Reverie
01-17-2005, 11:25
The last time I was out I experienced the coldest feet I have every felt while sleeping in my HH. I'm not really experienced with this but I think these are the particulars:

Outside Air Temperature was about 38F
Hammock Insulated with reflector
20F Kelty LightSpeed
Wool Socks (For Sleeping, not Hiking)

Any suggestions? I REALLY like using my hammock but if I can't keep my tootsies reasonably warm I might have to go back to a tent in colder weather. I read people on this site saying they have camped in some unreal cold weather. How did you cope? I hate to sound like a wuss but I finally had to get up and put on my boots. I have camped in far colder weather but that night was the coldest feeling night I have ever experienced.

Or I could just be getting old.

Reverie

Lilred
01-17-2005, 11:33
The last time I was out I experienced the coldest feet I have every felt while sleeping in my HH. I'm not really experienced with this but I think these are the particulars:

20F Kelty LightSpeed

Any suggestions? I REALLY like using my hammock but if I can't keep my tootsies reasonably warm I might have to go back to a tent in colder weather. I read people on this site saying they have camped in some unreal cold weather. How did you cope? I hate to sound like a wuss but I finally had to get up and put on my boots. I have camped in far colder weather but that night was the coldest feeling night I have ever experienced.

Reverie

Did you try taking your socks off?? I experienced the same problem with temps much colder. Soon as I took my socks off, my feet warmed up. I'm not sure why, but I think it has something to do with your body heat warming up the inside of the bag. Maybe someone on here knows better why that worked for me.

SGT Rock
01-17-2005, 11:59

20F Kelty LightSpeed

Reverie