PDA

View Full Version : tenting in snow

stonedflea
04-03-2011, 16:26
so... i'm originally from ms and currently living in sc. i "lived with" snow for three years in swva, but the most i've seen at one time has been six inches.

i'm new to the whole backpacking thing (>75, <100 miles), so i'm sort of clueless as to what's different about pitching a tent in the snow. i'll have a mid-april start, but i've heard i could still hit snow through may in the smokies.

i've got an msr hubba hubba tent. i will also have my dog, so from what i've gathered, shelters aren't an option. what do i need to do differently to pitch my tent in the snow? what about tent stakes? how hard is it to get them into the frozen ground? what about snow load? do you just hope your tent doesn't collapse?

thanks in advance. :)

Tinker
04-03-2011, 16:50
It's harder to pitch a tent on frozen dirt than snow, and harder to pitch a tent in shallow snow than deep snow. Most times you can take some extra line (plan on carrying 50 feet or so) and tie the stakeouts to nearby shrubs - easy to do at almost any tentsite on the AT. You can also fill stuffsacks with snow, dig trenches for the bags, tie them to your stake loops, and bury them in the snow, packing it down on top (this is known as a snow anchor). Tying line to sticks and burying them laying down at 90 degrees to the tent corner stake loops, covering them with snow and packing them in can also work.

Oh, in frozen dirt you can heat your tent stakes over your stove and, with a gloved hand ;) push them through the frost (hot water works, too).

Bati
04-03-2011, 18:15
It's much easier to find a good spot to pitch a tent when there's snow covering the ground. You can camp in places you'd never dream of without the snow, on top of poison ivy, over briars in deep snow, on deep ruts, directly across a trail that you can't find, etc.