PDA

View Full Version : VB socks leak

Caleb
01-19-2005, 20:26
Hi. i just bought some VB socks (climb High) from campmor.They are coated ripstop nylon with taped seam. Not knowing any better way to test them out prior to use, I filled them with water and found mumerous pin-hole leaks at the seams. Does anyone know how big a deal this is? I'm new to VB use but I wonder just how completely impermeable the VB has to be to be effective? My planned use is winter trekking with a liner sock, the Vb sock, and an outersock. thanks Caleb

orangebug
01-19-2005, 20:40
Send them back. These should have been sealed to be _vapor_proof_. Water proof would be much less a chore to create.

You can try out VB socks real easily and cheaply by putting on a pair of liners, cover with bread sacks over each foot, a covering sock or a rubber band around your ankle and then put on a pair of shoes.

Your feet will get very warm very quickly. It is best to do this outdoors in weather below 20F, preferably with snow.

VB works by preventing any cold wetness from outside getting to your feet. It prevents your cooling your feet by evaporating sweat. At some point, your feet will quit sweating and the dampness inside the VB sock will equilibrate.

Caleb
01-20-2005, 20:16
thanks OB

Today I asked Integral Designs if their VB sock passes the 'waterproof' test

...their response: The challenge with VB socks is that they have a relatively short lifespan due to constant abrasion and contact with moisture. We do get a small number of returns and failures on this product. Nothing that overly concerns us, but at a higher percentage than on any of our other products.

I'm thinking maybe I should go back to plastic bags. C

Caleb
01-21-2005, 19:41