PDA

View Full Version : First Aid Kit & Training

mybackpackingblog
04-14-2011, 10:11
ok...Here is one I am very passionate about. I am an Emergency Medical Responder (almost equal to an EMT) (Not by trade, just something I wanted to learn) and I am a Certified First Aid/CPR/AED Instructor...Soon to be an Instructor in Wilderness First Aid.

Question one: Do you carry a first aid kit? If so, is it smart to leave things out that you may need for the sake of being Ultra Light?

Question two: Do you know how to use what is in the kit?

Question three: Have you had any formal training?

Question four: Could you save a life on the trail?

Storm
04-14-2011, 10:55
I carry a small first aid kit with pretty much just the basics. Some bandaids, antiseptic, mole skin, a small roll of tape. I have taken first aid and cpr. My thoughts are that if something very serious happens it will be prudent to get to medical attention off the trail. I also carry duct tape and paracord so it would be pretty easy to improvise splints.

cavediver256
04-14-2011, 10:56
I have thought about this same question for quite some time, and I have come to the conclusion that I carry the typical band-aids, one SAM splint, duct tape, and usually a few Motrin, but a full blown first aid kit (as far as I am concerned) would be way too involved and way too damn heavy !!!

There has been one occasion I wished I had brought an extra 20lbs worth of first aid equipment, and a box of narcotics, but even with all the treatment I could have provided on the side of that mountain, there was still 2 miles of trail between where we were and the ambulance at Neel's Gap. I don't think this young lady's husband and I could have carried her out without causing more damage/pain than already had been done.