PDA

View Full Version : Thru-hiking for Leadville 100 training

realPajamas
04-20-2011, 09:08
Hey all,

I'm currently on the trail, hoping to complete a ga to me in about 105 days.

I'm also registered for the Leadville 100 this Aug.

Soliciting ideas for converting thru hiking fitness into ultra fitness.

A little background. I thru hiked the pct finishing late oct last year. I'm averaging 17 a day right now on the at with a bunch of zeros so far. Normal day right now is 26 mi in 10 to 11 hrs. Soon, I'll up the average to 23 a day or so. I've been doing some short trail runs on my zero days.

I have lots of high altitude experience, and plan to get to leadville at least 5 weeks before the race to acclimatize and check out the course.

So, what do yal think. If I average 140 to 160 miles on the trail each week, average speed without breaks about 18 min per mile, and then spend the 5 weeks in Leadville trail running? I worry my biomechanics will be exceptionally good for fast packing, but not running. Would you take a zero from hiking each week and go on tempo trail runs? I've thought about slacking once or twice a week for 30 or so miles at running pace, but don't want to deal with those logistics. I've also been doing some 24 to 30 hour nonstop pushes on the trail. I think these pushes are good ultra specific training, but poor strategy for sustained thru hiking.

JAK
04-20-2011, 09:38
If your base load is light enough, you might consider trail running the last day before resupply. Even on the other days when you are carrying more food you might mix in some running every other day, particularly up hills, with some bounding. Not alot. Also, some ABC running drills and dynamic stretching at the start of each day. Listen to your body. Keep the load light. Stay springy.

jbwood5
04-20-2011, 09:50
Hey all,

I'm currently on the trail, hoping to complete a ga to me in about 105 days.

I'm also registered for the Leadville 100 this Aug.