PDA

View Full Version : lost at road crossings

skooch
04-21-2011, 14:37
I'm new to the AT and this is a tough question to narrow down using the "search" on this site.

How common is it in the southern half of the trail to loose your way after a road crossing?

Is the other side of the road well marked with a white blaze?

Do you need a map to help you know if you need to travel left or right for a while?

I'm thinking about downloading maps. Traveling NOBO from Springer. thanks

royalusa
04-21-2011, 15:00
How common is it in the southern half of the trail to loose your way after a road crossing?

Rare, but it could happen. If you don't have a directional blaze (a blaze offset from the other blaze that tells you to turn right or left) and your guidebooks does not mention a direction, just look both ways and it's usually self evident - look for a worn path or a sign or a blaze or an information board or a parking lot. You shouldn't walk for too long after a junction like this without seeing a blaze. If you don't eventually see evidence of the trail, then try the other direction. No big deal.

[/QUOTE]Is the other side of the road well marked with a white blaze? [/QUOTE] Not always WELL marked, but eventually it is marked.

[/QUOTE]Do you need a map to help you know if you need to travel left or right for a while? [/QUOTE] Now, you've opened a can of worms. Some hikers swear by maps...others don't use them. We thru-hiked in 2008 and did not use maps and did not have any issues. If we were to hike the trail again, we would still go without maps. But you need to do what you are comfortable with...HYOH.

sizemj
04-21-2011, 15:01
They are usually well marked. I have never had any issues. Just follow the white blazes and signs. I carey a map and compass, but only needs them for trail info and distance, not navigation

Mizirlou
04-21-2011, 15:13
Hi, Skooch. Very well marked. Not a concern. Easy peasy.

Not sure if you’re section hiking or thru but here are your GA maps: