PDA

View Full Version : hiking for the first time

jacquie
04-22-2011, 10:48
Hello, I am planning on hiking some/part of the AT this summer. I have never hiked before in this manner and would llike to know where the best place to begin. I am planning on 3 to 5 day hike. Also what are the suttles for and what should I except.:banana

Montana Mac
04-22-2011, 10:51
Very broad question. Everybody has their own opion of the best place.

Do a search for Grayson Highlands here on WB. It is northof Damascus. There are a number of shuttles in the area.

Teeycp
04-22-2011, 14:02
Jacquie, I am trying to figure out the same thing. I was going to go SOBO from Harrisburg PA to Harpers Ferry but it seems that part is a lot of ups and downs or as I was informed PUDS. Being a novice I don't want to start somewhere and be disapponted.

DrRichardCranium
04-22-2011, 14:20
Hiking is just walking where it's OK to pee.

Panzer1
04-22-2011, 15:29
Also what are the suttles for and what should I except.:banana

I'm not sure what you mean by "suttles"

Panzer

Rick500
04-22-2011, 15:34
+1 on Grayson Highlands.

Northbound from Damascus to Grayson Highlands is an awesome hike. A lot of uphill, but worth it. You could do it southbound, but it's like eating dessert first.

FlyPaper
04-22-2011, 16:43
+1 on Grayson Highlands.

Northbound from Damascus to Grayson Highlands is an awesome hike. A lot of uphill, but worth it. You could do it southbound, but it's like eating dessert first.

I would do it North to South to reduce the uphill climbs.

The open vista's in Grayson Highlands has it's charm, but I really enjoyed the fast moving mountain streams as you got closer to Damascus. There is so much uphill going south to north that someone new to the trail would forget what species he is.

Deadeye
04-22-2011, 21:21