PDA

View Full Version : Total Beginners

cuevashiking
04-24-2011, 20:41
We are looking to do a 3-7 day hike of the Appalachian trail as our first outdoor adventure and have zero clue of what to do, equipment we need, and everything possible I should know.

We are a group of four.

Raul Perez
04-24-2011, 21:07
check out my hiking 101 series on my youtube channel. I go over the basics of gear you should think about bringing:

http://www.youtube.com/user/RaulPerez1?feature=mhum#p/c/946B45E5C5EC6E3D

Kerosene
04-24-2011, 21:14
First, think about going out for a few weekend overnighters, perhaps along the Batona Trail in south Jersey, or somewhere in the Pine Barrens. This will help you figure out the gear you need, make sure that you know how to use it, and whether you really want to go out for a week.

Second, read every thread on this site that looks interesting, especially the Articles forum.

Third, see if you can find a local college with an outdoor program that rents gear. If not, then visit the REI in Marlton (http://www.rei.com/stores/94) and rent from them before you go out and buy a bunch of equipment.

Once you're set to try the AT, I suggest either a 3-day trip, or "successive 3-day trips" punctuated by a re-supply and perhaps a motel stay. If you want to stick close to home, then start at the Delaware Water Gap and hike for 25-30 miles north over 3 days. You can get an AT guidebook from the Appalachian Trail Conservancy (http://www.appalachiantrail.org/).

cuevashiking
04-24-2011, 22:01
Im glad to hear I can rent gear that will help alot, and I will definetly do some research on the Batona Trail. I am in the Pine Barrens are there any specific locations you can name I should consider?

Toolshed
04-24-2011, 22:06
you could hook up with the DV Chapter AMC in Philly and get on a beginner BP trip.

cuevashiking
04-24-2011, 22:08