PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question...How many miles to hike?

shorembo
04-24-2011, 23:01
I am new to overnight hiking and am planning a week of hiking the AT in TN/NC this summer. How can I determine what the average daily distance I should cover? I was looking at someones prior route and he got up to 18 miles one some days and 7 miles on others. 18 miles seems excessive while 7 miles seems light.

I am 47 and am above average in fitness for my age.

bflorac
04-24-2011, 23:08
They say "hike your own hike". I'm 50 and carry a 40lb back. My heart and sole would love to be able to hike 20 miles/day but my left knee needs time to get in to shape every year. That takes at least a week no matter how much I prepare in advance (as I learned last year) so I try to keep it to about 10 miles/day at the start. TN/NC has some good hills so take your time. Enjoy yourself. There is no rush. You will find yourself with 3 speeds up, flat and down.

Spirit Walker
04-24-2011, 23:33
Start with some overnight hikes before your weeklong hike. The first few trips can feel somewhat brutal as you train the muscles of your body to carry weight up and down mountains. What I found starting out was that I could backpack about half the distance I could dayhike. So though I was doing 12-15 mile dayhikes, my first couple of backpack trips were 6-7 miles a day. Mind you, if you have lightweight comforable gear (I didn't) you may be able to hike longer mileage. By my third or fourth trip I think I was doing about 10 miles a day backpacking.

bigcranky
04-25-2011, 07:17
Carrying a loaded pack up and down steep hills in the summer heat is unbelievably different than running on flat ground in Florida. My advice would be to plan for 8 miles per day to start, and maybe stretch it to 10 per day at the end of the hike.