PDA

View Full Version : Montbell SS Down or Sierra Designs Spark

Vinya
04-26-2011, 23:55
These two bags (the Montbell Super Spiral and the Sierra Designs Spark, WOMENS) are my main choices for a good lightweight bag. I am usually a cold sleeper, but am looking at 30 degree bags for the most bang for my buck season-wise (and I'll have extra clothing to wear around a chilly campsite, anyway) and the fact that I'm a struggling college student.

I found this super spiral on backcountry
http://www.backcountry.com/montbell-super-spiral-hugger-3-down-sleeping-bag-30-degree?rr=t&cmp_id=&rrType=ClickCP&rrProd=MTB0137
but can't seem to figure out why it's cheaper (other than not being an UL, which makes no difference to me, really), unless I'm missing something obvious to my poor final exam-ridden brain.

I plan to hike the AT SOBO next year, but I also need this bag soon for a trip to Zion NP in May. I'm generally a side sleeper, hence why I want to go with something I can move in better than your standard mummy bag. I'm about 5 foot 8, and again generally a cold sleeper (so I figure a 30 would be fine for the average 45 temps of Zion at night, considering I'll be wearing layer to sleep in as I usually do). If I need to, I will compromise temp rating to a lower temp if so advised.

So, has anyone had any experience with these bags? Are these good choices? HALP! and many thanks :D

STICK
04-27-2011, 00:25
Vinya,

There are actually 3 different versions of the Montbell bag, in down. 4 if you count the synthetic version...

Back when Montbell offered the Super Stretch UL they decided to add a Spiral UL version. This is when the regular bags were good for peeps up to 5'10" and the longs were good for peeps up to 6'4". This was also the time that they had # 2's and 4's as well.