PDA

View Full Version : My Hiking plans.....

Delta
01-25-2005, 02:53
I'll be 17 this summer, and want to hike a portion of the AT. My family has a house on the border or Vermont and New Hampshire, in Norwhich, right next to the trail. My goal is to hike for 4-6 weeks from somewhere between the southern border of Massachusetts and the border of Conn/NY up through Mass and Vermont. It's about 240-320 miles. I've never really hiked before for more than 3 days.

I read up on a bunch of websites to get an idea of what I'm in for. I wanted to do this alone originally, but I am starting to doubt that that is a good idea seeing that it is my first time. Some experienced hikers told me that there are some strange people out there waiting to jump on you when you least expect it. I think I'll look fairly vulnerable if I was alone. Anyway, how can I go about finding a hiking partner? I don't know how many people are planning on the same route as me........probably not many. I was hoping that maybe I could catch a few 2000 milers, but then I'd have to keep up at their pace, which might be a struggle.

Any tips would be appreciated. From what I've gathered, I'll be able to cover 7-8 miles a day as a beginner, and will need about a weeks worth of food at any given time. I've also read that you should cook and eat away from where you sleep to prevent lingering odors around the tent. Have any of you encountered a bear? Thanks

Jaybird
01-25-2005, 09:07
DELTA:

First of all, WELCOME! You'll find the folks here @ WB are a friendly bunch & quite helpful with any & all questions.

You probably wont see any NOBO THRU-HIKERS til late summer in your area of hiking...but, could possibly see a few SOBO-ers.

I wouldnt worry too much about bears....i've seen a few, scurrying away as fast i could get my camera out...

your idea of cooking away from shelters/campsites is correct.