PDA

View Full Version : Base weight list?

Sun Blazed
05-02-2011, 18:27
Hey guys, this is my first time really trying to make a list of my base weight! Here it is: http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=3173

Can you guys tell me if I should be more picky and not weight things in groups, or if weighing stuff in individual groups is okay? It maybe a little off, but that's as good as I can guess. Do the weights look correct? I'm really trying to do this right, so that I can monitor myself as I'm going to start lightening up my gear.

Thanks.
Sun Blazed :sun

JERMM
05-02-2011, 18:34
it's best to list and weigh every item in ounces/grams, don't guess, know exactly, digital scales aren't expensive

example- your cook kit doesn't list an eating utensil at least not that I saw, spoon, spork, chopsticks it all counts and adds up

WhoDey
05-02-2011, 18:38
If you are serious about lightening up and carrying an UL pack, do not weigh your items in groups. weigh each item individually so that you are able to see the complete breakdown of what each item in your pack weighs. If you are not one of those people (I am) then weighing items in groups is fine. I imagine you are not trying to be an ULer with that gear so there is no need to worry over every little thing. And just to help you organize your list better, 0.15 pounds is not the same as 15oz

Snowleopard
05-02-2011, 18:41
You can do it either way, but when you go to replace things with lighter stuff it's nice to have the individual items weights. Still, with what have there, you can see pretty easily what you can lighten up on
I think your weights for everything under 'tools' are wrong -- Katadyn Hiker pro wf is not 0.15 oz.

Sun Blazed
05-02-2011, 19:08
it's best to list and weigh every item in ounces/grams, don't guess, know exactly, digital scales aren't expensive

example- your cook kit doesn't list an eating utensil at least not that I saw, spoon, spork, chopsticks it all counts and adds up