PDA

View Full Version : A more practical pots question

Bootstrap
05-04-2011, 17:24
I've been using the same 2 coated aluminum pots since 2005. One holds 2 cups, and is great when it's just me. One holds 6-7 cups, it's overkill for even two people, takes up a lot of room in my pack, and is somewhat prone to bending.

I'd like something in the 3-4 cup range, about 750 - 1000 milliliters, maybe even as much as 1.4 Liters but only if its very conveniently shaped for the pack (and something that big might nudge me toward titanium). I'd like it to have a lid. I want the lid to stay on the pot when it's in my pack instead of popping off like the lids on my current pots. I'd like it to not bend up too much.

I'll usually use this with an alky stove, sometimes with a canister, probably never with wood.

Cheap is good. It doesn't have to be titanium, though I'm open to it. It certainly doesn't have to be designer yuppie. I'm open to making something or buying a grease pot or whatever.

jeffmeh
05-04-2011, 18:40
The Stanco Grease Pot is about 5 cups, and weighs in at 3.8 oz. if you replace the plastic lid pull with a binder clip wire. And cheap....

http://www.amazon.com/Stanco-Non-Stick-Grease-Strainer-Black/dp/B000MVTIOQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1304548640&sr=1-1-catcorr

Amanita
05-04-2011, 19:22
The grease pot jeffmeh linked to is available at Kmart for about $7. It holds about a liter of water.

Walmart also has a grease pot, by Imusa, that holds about a liter and a half. The walmart pot weighs 7-8 ounces (also without the heavy original plastic lid handle) and is taller but smaller in diameter. It has an aluminum handle for pouring on the pot, but that adds to the weight.

I'm not sure what you mean by "coated" but I wouldn't describe either of these pots as such. If you intend to cook directly in them I would recommend "seasoning" them to prevent leeching and corrosion. Google can provide instructions on how to do so.

Tinker
05-04-2011, 20:49
Re: the above posts.