PDA

View Full Version : Checking out Tarptents

Jersey Tim
05-06-2011, 20:35
After a long stretch of borrowing a freestanding Hubba from a less active friend, I’m getting ready to pick up a shelter of my own and I’m thinking about a Tarptent Rainbow or Moment, the likes of which I’ve never used before. I don't know much about them beyond the info on the official site and the glittering reviews on forums like this one, so explain it to me like the single-wall newb I am: what differences will I see? What am I giving up and what do I gain along with the weight savings? And what's the functional difference between the Rainbow and Moment?

Point Man Chef
05-06-2011, 21:05
Did 5 nights out in my DR in April. First night out was on a ridge on the 15TH when that huge storm came through NC. I was doing Rock Gap to Fontana. Torrential rains and crazy wind. Corner stake pulled up twice during the night and I essentially ended up in a tent size puddle, no footprint. I could press down lightly on the floor and feel the water! Possibly bad site choice but it rained for 12 hours so??? The ground was saturated by midnight. It was a challenge given the storm. BUT! The tent was a freakin' champ and I am sold. One note: If you seam seal yours, do it twice and maybe once from the inside along the pole seam. I had one stinking slow pinpoint leak that would hit me in my forehead. Again, I'll take care of that soon with another seal. Sorry so long, but after that storm I was sold on tarp tents in general. They can shelter you effectively. Have fun choosing yours!

map man
05-06-2011, 21:46