PDA

View Full Version : New Hiker Looking for a Little Help

Ruckus
05-09-2011, 18:06
Hello there everyone. I'm new to the forum and to the Appalachian Trail and was hoping to get some needed information and maybe even some opinions. I've been doing some research and I've become a bit overwhelmed by everything. I'm also a bit new to such long hikes; day hikes, biking trips, and kayaking trips aren't new to me, but this will be my(and my friends) first time hiking and camping for an extended period of time. As such, I'm quite inexperienced on this subject.

Anyways, in the next few weeks, I'm going to Blue Ridge, Georgia with a friend and we decided we'd like to hike a section of the AT. I assume we should start at Springer Mountain, and we want to do about a 1 week hike(Maybe more depending on how we feel), but I don't know where to end. Ideally, I would like to do a big loop, say Springer to Neals Gap, but I would like to hike a different trail back. Is that possible at all or would someone recommend something different?

And while I'm at it, I'm in the market for a good backpack. Something I can take with my Mountain Biking and Kayaking, but also on a good 3-4 day adventure. Something that can convert to a larger pack when needed, but small enough for those 1 day adventures. Anyone have any opinions on this subject?

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated, thanks. :)

Ankle Bone
05-09-2011, 18:24
One option is to park at ASP and get a shuttle to Dicks Creek Gap. It would be about a week to hike South to get back to your car, and you have places to get off the trail along the way if needed. Car will be safe at ASP.

Tinker
05-09-2011, 19:32
As far as the pack goes, it's generally agreed that you should buy your gear first and then get a pack to fit it into. Personally, I'd get two packs, one for light and small loads and another for heavier, bulkier loads.