PDA

View Full Version : Stoves!

Sierra Echo
05-12-2011, 21:09
Ok, if you were told you could only use one type of stove for the rest of your life, what would it be? And it would have to be something I could buy from backcountry.com too! LOL

10-K
05-12-2011, 21:12
For my next trick I'm going to try stoveless but...

I've been very, very happy with my esbit / graham cracker stove / caldera cone for a few years.

Very light, cheap and does the job.

Leanthree
05-12-2011, 21:42
Sigh, probably a Jetboil. I like alcohol but it isn't versatile enough if I am out with more than one other person.

Feral Bill
05-12-2011, 22:31
Same one I've been using for 40+ years. SVEA.

Bearpaw
05-12-2011, 23:08
Cannister stove. Either the Snow Peak Gigapower or MSR Pocket Rocket. Super simple, good quality highly adjustable flame.

Not the lightest or the cheapest, but a great amount of versatility.

bobp
05-13-2011, 15:37
Amen! My SVEA is older than I am, and more than a bit more reliable.

Sierra Echo
05-13-2011, 16:27
Ive looked at all of these and I'm still a tad bit leery. I'm a dangerous person. I'm not gonna sugar coat it! I'm a menance to myself and those around me. I need a stove that is Sierra Echo-proof. Do they come in solar powered? :D

max patch
05-13-2011, 17:02
I didn't plan it this way, but it looks like my SVEA will be the only stove I own during my life.

Tenderheart
05-13-2011, 17:21
Ive looked at all of these and I'm still a tad bit leery. I'm a dangerous person. I'm not gonna sugar coat it! I'm a menance to myself and those around me. I need a stove that is Sierra Echo-proof. Do they come in solar powered? :D

There, there, there now. It can't be all that bad. The most bombproof stove I know of is the little Trangia. Be advised though that you can't see the denatured flame burning. You will wonder why your tent, tarp, etc. is melting. Let's be careful out there.

LIhikers
05-13-2011, 17:22