PDA

View Full Version : What to drive?

winland
05-13-2011, 14:08
My Dodge truck has faithfully taken me to many a trailhead and waited patiently for my return. Alas, it is time to replace it.

So what to get??

What I like about the truck: 4 wheel drive, high clearance, room for 4 plus lots of stuff, battered and beaten (so no one even considers stealing it).

What I don't like: poor gas mileage, size (for fitting into those not-really-a-parking-space spaces), rising repair bills. Not really "fun" to drive.

Recommendations?

Thanks all

hikerboy57
05-13-2011, 14:41
theres certainly plenty of options for you. I sell chevys for a living. It depends on your budget. You can go new and have full warranty, or look for something preowned, and use the savings to buy gas. If you're driving a durango, you'd probably get better gas mileage in a suburban, if you're looking for a small pickup, take a lok at the Dodge Dakota, chevy colorado, or the Nissan frontier.dont be totally fixated on fuel economy, keep in mind the TOTAL COST of owning the vehilce you consider(insurance,fuel economy, total price)depending how many miles a year you drive, fuel may not be the biggest factor- whats a better buy, a $30000 vehicle that gets 40mpg, or a $20000 vehicle that gets 30mpg?will the money you spend on better gas mileage outweigh the gas savings?the average break even for a Hybrid vehicle is 7 years(Consumer reports).

4shot
05-13-2011, 14:48