PDA

View Full Version : Staying Warm While Hanging

conburn
05-25-2011, 23:09
Hello everybody! I'm new to backpacking (only been on a few weekend trips on the Ice Age trail in Wisconsin) I bought a Hennessy ultralite at trail days recently and I'm really happy with it. I have a 20 degree rei subkilo and on a high 40's low 50's night I was cold along my spine. I did not bring my sleeping pad, however, I feel that I definitely need something more for a march 1st- 15th start date (2012). I realize that the down underneath me is compressed and rendered almost useless so....An under quilt maybe? I went to hammockgear.com and found out they are really expensive (around 215).... should I return my sleeping bag and just go with that and a sleeping pad? Is there anyone that has the a sym ultralight velcro or similar who has used it around freezing? If so what kind of set up do you have? Any insight to this would really help me out! My thanks and appreciation in advance.

Amanita
05-25-2011, 23:20
Background: I have a HH scout and have taken it down to about 20F with a ridgerest and a 15 degree synthetic bag.

I used a closed cell pad, the ridgerest, in my HH and found it to work out well. I have not tried underquilts or an inflatable in a hammock. Having a traditional pad also gave me the flexibility to stay in shelters when I so chose.

Many people consider down's "compressibility" to be a major advantage over synthetics. What is often overlooked is that the lack of compressibility in synthetics makes them less prone to cold spots if some part of you leaves the pad or touches the side of your tent/hammock. In a synthetic bag I can use a 3/4 pad, in a down bag I need a full length pad. YMMV

Short: Yes, you need under insulation. Try a ridgerest, z-rest, or cheap walmart pad.

singing wind
05-25-2011, 23:32