PDA

View Full Version : 100 mile wilderness info

Sam Bar
05-26-2011, 20:19
Hey all, newbie here. New to here, not hiking. I'm living in Maine now and interested in doing the 100 mile wilderness. Looking for info, input etc...
How long for an average hiker? Elevation changes? How difficult. Very I understand. Anyhelp would be great. Thanks, John

brian039
05-26-2011, 20:31
First 30 miles North of Monson are pretty tough and you're carrying a lot of food. The sign says to bring 10 days of food but it can be done in 7 for the average person. There's one resupply at Whitehouse Landing, my guidebook was destroyed on my thru or I'd give you an idea how far into the Wilderness it was. Trail isn't too bad as far as elevation gain after the first 30 miles but sometimes the trail is really muddy and rooty which will slow you down. Do Katahdin too if you have time.

Cookerhiker
05-26-2011, 21:28
Hey all, newbie here. New to here, not hiking. I'm living in Maine now and interested in doing the 100 mile wilderness. Looking for info, input etc...
How long for an average hiker? Elevation changes? How difficult. Very I understand. Anyhelp would be great. Thanks, John

As to difficulty, it depends on your frame of reference. Compared to the AT in southern/western Maine, it's noticably easier. The highest point I believe is Whitecap Mountain but the ascent up it (NOBO) is gradual. There are a few steep streches in the 100 Mile Wilderness but they're not as long or as many feet of elevation gained as further south. I generally agree with Brian that most of the harder ups/downs are in the first (southernmost) 30 miles although Nesuntabunt and Little Boardman are both steep.

Some parts are easy. When I hiked it in '05 (http://www.trailjournals.com/entry.cfm?id=117001) as part of a section hike from Gorham, I had 2 15 mile days and one 17 miler. I did the whole Monson-to-Abol Bridge in 7 days.