PDA

View Full Version : DSLR Camera for the trail?

Cool Hands
06-05-2011, 21:51
Hey, WB.

My point-and-shoot Fujifilm Finepix JV100 has been getting very beaten up over the past year, and as I'm getting really into photography (I have some pictures on the site from an AT backpack this past summer), I've started researching different better quality cameras over the past month. Since I'm just starting out with serious photography, I was looking for a lower-end DSLR, around $500 or $600.

Now, it gets complicated where the line starts to blur between point-and-shoot and DSLR; I could get high-end point-and-shoots such as the Canon G12, bridge cameras such as the Canon SX30IS which evidently have the features and feel of a DSLR but without the best image sensor or adaptability of one, and finally "interchangeable lens" cameras such as the Olympus E-PL2 which have the compactness, versatility, and relative quality of DSLR's but without the bulk, extra features, and viewfinder -- all this before you reach the introductory and lower end DSLR cameras and all around the same price range.

I guess my question is, what would you suggest to be the best DSLR or other high-quality camera to take on the trail and on backpacking trips? Has anyone else had success with a DSLR on an extended trip? I know it's extra weight, but I believe I am passionate enough about my photography to make the sacrifice.

Megapixel
06-05-2011, 22:32
i used a t2i on our thru this year for the first 150 miles and plan on returning with it. I use a dana designs wet rib to carry it and a pancake lens, 250mm lens, and a joby gorillapod. It does take care to not fall on it and crush it, and i use loc sak brand protection for it.
as far as what to get? i would suggest ebay for the most for your money. i have used only canon, so i am a bit biased there. but the lenses are where its at with dslrs.
good luck, and happy trails.

leaftye
06-05-2011, 23:04