PDA

View Full Version : 2011 SOBO Gear List

Azurescens
06-07-2011, 11:28
Hi, my name is Scott. I'm a college student from Michigan, preparing to begin at Katahdin on Monday, June 13th. I plan to stay that night at Katahdin Stream Campground and at Abol Bridge or Hurd Brook Lean-to on Tuesday. I wanted to post my gear list while there's still time for feedback:

REI XT 85 Backpack -- 5 lbs, 0 oz.

Sleeping Group
Foam sleeping pad -- 15.2 oz.
Warbonnet Blackbird double layer hammock with biners -- 26.9 oz.
Big Mamajamba tarp with biners, ridgeline and tent stakes -- 20.9 oz.
North Face Cat's Meow sleeping bag -- 42 oz.

Tools and Miscellany
Rope -- 3.9 oz.
Headlamp -- 3.3 oz.
Camp towell -- 2.0 oz.
Camera -- 7.8 oz.
Leatherman -- 8.2 oz.
Ziplock bag with first aid kit, gear repair kit, hand sanitizer, sun block, extra batteries, ink pen and chapstick -- 16.0 oz.
Toothbrush -- 0.2 oz.
Tweezers and hair comb -- .5 oz.
Compass -- 0.6 oz.
Journal, AT Data Book and AT Thru Hiker's Companion -- 17.2 oz.

Clothing
Cotton bucket hat -- 2.0 oz.
Mosquito hat/head net -- 2.6 oz.
Cotton bandana -- 1.5 oz.
Fleece hat -- 1.5 oz.
Liner gloves -- 1.2 oz.
Polyester gloves -- 1.6 oz.
Primaloft sweater -- 9.7 oz.
2 polypropylene pants -- 15.0 oz. total
Polyester long sleeve -- 5.0 oz.
Polypropylene long sleeve -- 7.6 oz.
Short sleeve hiking shirt -- 3.4 oz.
Cotton shirt -- 7.3 oz.
Nylon shorts -- 7.1 oz.
Nylon pants and belt -- 10.7 oz.
Camp sandals -- 11.4 oz.
Stuff sack -- 1.6 oz.
3 pairs Smartwool socks -- 5.9 oz. total
2 pairs liner socks -- 2.6 oz.

Kitchen
Food sack and biner -- 5.2 oz.
Titanium pot -- 7.5 oz.
Spork -- 0.3 oz.
MSR Pocket Rocket stove -- 4.0 oz.
3 full 8 oz. fuel cannisters -- 37.8 oz. total
Partially full fuel cannister -- 9.1 oz.
Empty 1-L water bladder -- 1.3 oz.
Empty 1-L Nalgene with duct tape wrapped around -- 5.3 oz.
MSR water pump -- 16.8 oz.
Food sack with biner -- 5.2 oz.

Food (so far)
Cous cous -- 65.5 oz.
Lentils -- 16 oz.